SUNDAY MORNING

You know when your thoughts actually jinx your own reality… sure you do.. all week around me, everyone seems to have been getting sick. At work, coughing and sneezing became a familar soundtrack, and yesterday as I moped around, writing and thinking about what to do all day, all I could think was, at least I’m not sick. And guess what happened? I got sick…

Last night was going to entail a short, simple night out but instead consisted of coughs, sneezes and enough vicks vapor rub to put out a small child..

I’m going to go sweat it out at the gym, keep my plans of that sunday NYC institution, brunch, and then watch an academy award nominated movie to get me oscar ready and REST, REST, REST… I need to be cold free when I leave for Miami in 5 days.

I know it’s Superbowl sunday, but if you’re like me, and dont care about the Pittsburgh Steelers and don’t even know what Packers are, then here are some things you can do today that DON’T involve nachos and Game Day shenanigans that you are only participating in so you have something to do tonight…. It’s okay- you can admit you are only watching for the commercials- I’ll never tell….

Event
Freeze Tag on Wall Street
Since the global financial crisis has left many of us with a lot more time on our hands, don’t be shy about heading down to Wall Street to join this group for a recreational, completely apolitical game of freeze tag.

Lions, dragons and rabbits
Chinese Lunar New Year began on February 3, setting in motion two weeks of celebrations (we’ve recommended eight events in this week’s Best of the Fests). One of the most popular, the Better Chinatown Society’s 12th Annual Chinatown Lunar New Year Parade and Festival (begins at Canal and Mott Sts; 917-660-2402, betterchinatown.com; 1–3pm; free), sees hundreds of costumed marchers and performers (along with dragon and lion puppets) winding through the streets of Chinatown and Little Italy. Snag a spot at Forsyth and Hester Streets for the best view.

This entry was posted in Island LIfe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

